Delta Zeta History

    Delta Zeta was founded at Miami University of Oxford, Ohio on October 24, 1902 by six remarkable women: Mabelle May Minton, Julia Bishop Coleman, Alfa Lloyd Hayes, Mary Jane Collins, Anna Louise Keen, and Anne Dial Simmons.

    These six women established the symbols, crest, and creed of Delta Zeta and their meanings have been a lasting legacy for Delta Zetas for many years.

    Their efforts were aided by the then president of the university, Dr. Guy Potter Benton. He later became the first and only man to wear the Delta Zeta badge. The first new member and initiate of the Delta Zeta sorority was Elizabeth Coulter Stephenson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.